Artist: Blaine Scot Prow

Exhibition: Square Pentagon (from his Extrusions gallery).

Media: White Bristol board on black charcoal paper.

Gallery: Dr. Maxine Merlino Gallery.

Website: None at this time.

Instagram: @tiffuts

About the Artist

Blaine Scot Prow is a Graduate Student at CSULB, in the School of Arts Studio Art program. He transferred to CSULB from Orange County. Outside of his art making and graphic designing, Blaine enjoys photography, and playing the guitar, bass guitar, and keyboard (he used to be in a band and is trying to find time for it again).

Formal Analysis

Square Pentagon measures twelve inches by twelve inches. The top white layer (and the 3D, square pyramid) is made of Bristol board. The black background is made of Foamcore (however, Blaine told me in person that the black was charcoal paper).

The entire piece is a square. A large pentagon has been cut into the middle of the white paper with an X-ACTO Knife. The bottom side has not been cut; instead, the cut-out paper is attached to the bottom, and is folded in such a way as to make a square (four-sided) pyramid. The pyramid is held together with rubber cement (while drying, Blaine held it together with artist’s tape).

 

Content Analysis

As stated in the description page posted in the gallery, Blaine has always been obsessed with Geometry, and the construction, interaction, and relationship between shapes. The process of cutting and folding paper shapes is where Blaine got the idea for the Extrusions gallery. “Simply playing around one day I found that if I cut a square out, create a diagonal crease from each corner and fold it upon itself the resulting shape is a triangular pyramid; further experimentation found that by leaving one edge attached to the paper I cut from I was allowed to see the instantaneous relationship between the square and triangular pyramid.”

Square Pentagon spawned from Blaine’s fascination with geometry and shapes. He played around with a variety of cut-out shapes and folded them a number of ways until he got his desired 3D shape. On another piece, he stated that the cuts and folds had to be incredibly precise so that he would yield the right 3D shape.

Synthesis

I like Square Pentagon. I am personally not a huge fan of geometry (at least not the mathematical components) but I am interested in shapes and objects. Just like Blaine, I was fascinated by shapes as a child; I had different toy building kits, and because my dad does a lot of woodwork, I got to play with building things myself. I like the simple black and white contrast of Square Pentagon. Blaine said the only reason he did black and white is because it paired well together, which I agree with–sometimes simple is best. I also admire (and envy) Blaine’s skill in terms of cutting and folding so precisely.

 

IMG_9311.JPG

