John’s Blog: https://johncrewsavage.wordpress.com/about/

This week I met with John Savage. John is a freshman at CSULB. He and I are both majoring in Film and Electronic Arts, but since he is a freshman he is just completing his GE’s (I believe Art 110 doubles as a GE and prerequisite for him) whereas I am in my sophomore year and technically pre-majoring (taking prerequisites).

What is a piece of art, of any medium, that you would like to share with everyone? Why do you like it and why do you think others should experience (read, see, listen to, etc.) it?

John and I had similar answers to this question. However, John was less specific. We both agreed that because art is so subjective, we don’t like to tell people what to look at, watch, etc. because it makes us feel like we’re forcing them to like something, which we agree isn’t very polite. This is where John’s answer ends, although he did try thinking of a movie he would want people to watch. I also came up with a movie: The Secret Life of Walter Mitty (2013). I can’t quite place why I like this movie so much. It’s not incredibly action packed (though there are exciting moments) nor is it fully a comedy or a drama. If you’ve seen the movie, you know what I mean. Walter is introduced as a man who likes to daydream that he does exciting, brave things, when in reality he is just a normal guy who goes to work, etc. Then he has to go on adventure in order to save his job and ends up doing incredibly dangerous and exhilarating things all because they’re the only ways. If my description is lackluster, I apologize–it really is hard to describe why I love this movie. It just gives me a very warm, positive feeling, which I think we all need now and then.

Would you be supportive of your child wanting to pursue an art career? Why or why not?

Again, John and I both agreed on this question. We both would support our child if they pursued an art career. We both think that they should be allowed to pursue any career they want so long as it isn’t too bad of an idea; they should explore and express themselves, but only if they can survive off of it. I brought up that as expressive, personal, and fun art is (painting, sculpting, etc.), people who are artists and only artists tend to, well, not make money. We both support artists in their endeavors but we would want our children to at least have another job so that they can eat and live, and not let art be the only thing they do–yes they can love art and let it be more than just a hobby, but they still need some form of income on the side.

Open your phones to the 1st page. What apps do you both have? What apps are different? Discuss!

John and both have our stock applications on the first page of our iPhones (App Store, Notes, Reminders, etc.). The biggest difference is that I have all of my apps in folders, whereas John mainly has his out in the open, so to speak. John also keeps his main social media apps on the first page (Facebook, Instagram, etc.), whereas I keep mine on the second page. I do this because I like my first page to be mainly “utilities”: navigation apps, notes, dictionary, weather, alarm apps, Photos/Camera, Google apps, and so on. This is so that I hopefully use them more than the second page, which has social media apps, games, photo/video/movie apps, etc.

Image.jpeg

 

 

 

