I’ll begin by stating that I do not have a ton of relationships in Art 110. I’ve had my share of Classmate Conversations (the appropriate and required amount), but only three of them have really led to something more than just a one time thing. I really only talk to John Savage, Juan Vazquez, and Daniel Puentes in regards to the class.

That being said, I do want to know more people; I do love and care for other people, despite what my resting face, voice, and general cynicism may telegraph. It’s just that my personal idea of school is only school–I go in at the start and leave at the end. If I get to know other people or my friends are available, then I’ll hang out with them, etc. But that’s just an addition to school, not a part of it.

Everyone in Art 110 seems fun and nice; I may only know a few of them better than the rest, but everyone else I normally see is friendly. For instance, Maritess and I smile and say hi when we see each other (although we’ve never had a Classmate Convo); I say hey to Chris when we see each other (with whom I have had a Convo with). But again, this is because unless necessary or it happens naturally, classmate relationships aren’t a priority.

AGAIN, I’m not saying I don’t want to get to know everyone–I am fun and outgoing.

This leads to the in-class portion of the art project this week. Because I only really know three people from our Convos (my first one, Rupen…I’m not even sure if he’s still in this class since I never got his last name), I could only tie my yarn to said three. And yet, I only tied my yarn to two, because the last one (Daniel) didn’t put his picture on the wall yet. So I’m tied to John and Juan.

Unfortunately, I don’t have any good pictures. I only took a picture of my photo and forgot to get one of all three of us.

IMG_9624.JPG

However, Juan did send me a picture he took of all three of us. Here it is:

IMG_9732.JPG

Can’t see it? How about now?

FullSizeRender 2.jpg

Aaaaaalmost got it…

FullSizeRender.jpg

Yes so there we are. I do believe that John and Juan tied their yarns to other people. But again, I could not, as Daniel was not on the wall yet.

 

I then made my own Social Network with pen and paper–nothing too fancy, but it gets my point across. It shows my girlfriend’s and my relationship, and our mutual relationships.

FullSizeRender 3.jpg

We basically know all of our friends. Above our names our the friends whom we both know well (although I know them a little better than Sira does). To my left/bottom and Sira’s right are our “other” group of friends–those that we hang out with seperate from the aforementioned group. Sira does not know my group of friends that well, although I do know her group a little better. There are some that overlap: Wyatt (top group) knows Andrew (Sira’s right group) and Wayne (my left group); and Sira knows Tony (my left group).

Sufficed to say, the top group of friends all know each other, Sira, and me really well. They were a group of friends before I (and then Sira) joined. However that was years ago, and we’re all “equal,” so to speak.

Onto the Q&A…

  1. Do you think of the term “Social Network” as applying to your RL life and your RL, physical friends? Or mostly to Online & Mobile tools that connect you to people in cyberspace?
    I feel that “Social Network” applies more to Online/Mobile tools, sites, etc. I’ve personally just heard it more in that regard, and not really for non-online.
  2. Does Dunbar’s Number make sense to you? That we can only have around 150 truly meaningful relationships, and any others we know will be in more fragmentary ways?
    I would say that makes sense, but I would also go further and significantly decrease that number. As I will answer in number 5, I would say I have an approximate total of 25 “true relationships” (Family is not included), with any other relationships being more casual acquaintances, professional relationships, etc.
  3. What does it mean to have 1,000 or 2,000 or 5,000 Facebook “friends”? Who are these people? What sorts of relationships do you have to them?
    The hundreds of people we have on Facebook aren’t really our true friends, but rather people we just know. I have my “true friends” on Facebook, but I also have people that I have met and have known/spoken with before, but we are not necessarily best friends–we are just acquaintances.
  4. When we visualized our Art110 Social Network, or when you visualized your personal Social Network, did anything surprise you? Did you find any connections or relationships that you hadn’t thought about or realized any different connections?
    No. Everything was as I knew: I knew only a few people in Art 110, and I knew my friends’ and my relationships/connections.
  5. What’s your Personal Number? How many people would you like to have close relationships with in your life? 1? 10? 100? 1,000?
    My personal number would be about 25. Those would be my “true friends” (again, family not included).
  6. Do you have more “friends” on Facebook or some other platform than are truly your “friends”? What is your relationship to those “extra friends”? Have these weak ties ever brought you new resources like a job opening, someone to date, a cool event, info for something you were working on, etc?
    As stated before, my hundreds of friends (yes, I’m bragging ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) ) on Facebook, etc. are not really my true friends. They’re mainly people with whom I’m familiar. They’ve never really led to any new resources, although I’m sure I’ve been to a party because of mutual friends (yes, I’m bragging again ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)  ).
